India > Shimla Hotel Reviews > Hotel Surya

Reviews of Hotel Surya, Shimla

 4  star rating out of 5 39 reviews

 photo

79 % Recommend this Shimla hotel

There are 39 reviews of Hotel Surya in Shimla. This Shimla hotel is recommended by 79 % of the people who stayed at the hotel. Below is guest reviews of Hotel Surya - all reviews are from genuine travelers who have booked through us and stayed at this hotel. Hotel has a overall rating of 4 star out of 5.
See hotel details, photos and rates of Hotel Surya, Shimla
39 reviews sorted by Date



Reviews by Year

2016   4.5  star rating out of 5 (1 reviews) 100 % Recommend this hotel
2013   4.5  star rating out of 5 (4 reviews) 100 % Recommend this hotel
2012   4.5  star rating out of 5 (2 reviews) 100 % Recommend this hotel
2011   2.5  star rating out of 5 (2 reviews) 0 % Recommend this hotel
2010   4.5  star rating out of 5 (3 reviews) 100 % Recommend this hotel
2009   4  star rating out of 5 (6 reviews) 83 % Recommend this hotel
2008   3.5  star rating out of 5 (10 reviews) 60 % Recommend this hotel
2007   4  star rating out of 5 (11 reviews) 91 % Recommend this hotel

How many guests gave what ratings?

5 Star
  
12 reviews
4 Star
  
6 reviews
3 Star
  
12 reviews
2 Star
  
7 reviews
1 Star
  
2 reviews

Stay again in this hotel?

Definitely
  
10 reviews
Most Likely
  
21 reviews
Never
  
7 reviews
No answer
  
1 reviews

Latest Review Details

“ Nice stay in Shimla ”

4.5  star rating out of 5     Reviewed on Jan 23, 2016
Reviewed by: Subhasish P (India)
4 rating out of 5 Value for money
3 rating out of 5 Hotel Location
4 rating out of 5 Cleanliness
4 rating out of 5 Staff
4 rating out of 5 Service
4 rating out of 5 Restaurant

Stayed on January 4, 2016
Would you stay in this hotel again? Yes
Guest Comments:
Good amenity of hotel also other facilities are up to the mark.

“ Not a good expereince. ”

3.5  star rating out of 5     Reviewed on Dec 9, 2013
Reviewed by: Kartick M (India)
5 rating out of 5 Value for money
5 rating out of 5 Hotel Location
1 rating out of 5 Cleanliness
1 rating out of 5 Staff
4 rating out of 5 Service
2 rating out of 5 Restaurant

Stayed on December 3, 2013
Would you stay in this hotel again? Yes
Guest Comments:
I stayed in hotel 5th December to 7th Dec I came from so long traveling and I didn't got proper room I check in at 12 noon but I got proper room after 2.30 pm front office really playing with us they put us in dirty room I kept on telling and they kept on changing my room as one house keeping staff told us that old building room don't have proper facility so please tell reception to change the room then I complain to my travel agent and my room change after so much telling and they are not felling sorry also reception staff is very rude room service I order thali in lunch in one thali rice hair I saw I call room service to change they change I told reception also but they didn't bother also toilet paper not there we have to call so many time no towel room is dirty I will not suggest anyone to stay there ya service is quick no doubt room service staff is very good front office staff is really pathetic even I'm working in 5star hotel as restaurant manger we suppose to apologize to the guest if any thing goes wrong but here reception I think they are thinking they are GM of the hotel I will not suggest anyone to go in this hotel.

“ SATISFACTORY EXPERIENCE AT HOTEL SURYA. SHIMLA. ”

5  star rating out of 5     Reviewed on Oct 24, 2013
Reviewed by: Madhabendu M (India)
4 rating out of 5 Value for money
4 rating out of 5 Hotel Location
3 rating out of 5 Cleanliness
5 rating out of 5 Staff
5 rating out of 5 Service
5 rating out of 5 Restaurant

Stayed on October 18, 2013
Would you stay in this hotel again? Yes
Guest Comments:
The hotel is on a motorable road but a bit away from the mall. It has a lift facility. Due to renovation work the corridor was untidy but the room was clean. The hospitality shown fulfilled my expectation. Quality of food was good.The buffet breakfast was interesting and enjoyable. Altogether I had a good experience in the hotel.

“ rent was a concern ”

5  star rating out of 5     Reviewed on Jun 8, 2013
Reviewed by: Deepak B (India)
4 rating out of 5 Value for money
5 rating out of 5 Hotel Location
4 rating out of 5 Cleanliness
4 rating out of 5 Staff
5 rating out of 5 Service
5 rating out of 5 Restaurant

Stayed on June 2, 2013
Would you stay in this hotel again? Yes
Guest Comments:
Please decrease your room rent .

“ Average ”

3.5  star rating out of 5     Reviewed on Apr 12, 2013
Reviewed by: Dhananjay K (India)
3 rating out of 5 Value for money
5 rating out of 5 Hotel Location
4 rating out of 5 Cleanliness
3 rating out of 5 Staff
1 rating out of 5 Service
5 rating out of 5 Restaurant

Stayed on April 2, 2013
Would you stay in this hotel again? Yes
Guest Comments:
We visited Shimla a week ago and had a booking in Hotel Surya. We found some problems there as there was lack of power backup and prompt service. Food was really very tasty and of good quality in the restaurant. Staff was also very good and helpful which we appreciate. The location of this Shimla hotel is really very good, nearby to the bus stand and railway station. We suggest that they should provide complimentary drop service.

“ It is same as 7 years back ”

5  star rating out of 5     Reviewed on Nov 27, 2012
Reviewed by: Dipesh B (India)
5 rating out of 5 Value for money
5 rating out of 5 Hotel Location
5 rating out of 5 Cleanliness
5 rating out of 5 Staff
4 rating out of 5 Service
4 rating out of 5 Restaurant

Stayed on November 17, 2012
Would you stay in this hotel again? Yes
Guest Comments:
I stayed at this hotel 7 years back and found the same peace there great rooms and lovely views from window. The best hotel in Shimla to stay.

“ .Rooms not upto mark but great view ”

3.5  star rating out of 5     Reviewed on Jun 30, 2012
Reviewed by: Maninder S (India)
2 rating out of 5 Value for money
4 rating out of 5 Hotel Location
2 rating out of 5 Cleanliness
3 rating out of 5 Staff
3 rating out of 5 Service
3 rating out of 5 Restaurant

Stayed on June 22, 2012
Would you stay in this hotel again? Yes
Guest Comments:
Good location. Room problems e.g. broken bed, broken locks, hot water available only during specific hours. Restaurant average.

2  star rating out of 5     Reviewed on May 23, 2011
Reviewed by: Bikash J (India)
0 rating out of 5 Value for money
0 rating out of 5 Hotel Location
1 rating out of 5 Cleanliness
1 rating out of 5 Staff
2 rating out of 5 Service
2 rating out of 5 Restaurant

Stayed on May 11, 2011
Would you stay in this hotel again? No
No comments

“ Shimla, a big No No ”

2.5  star rating out of 5     Reviewed on Apr 27, 2011
Reviewed by: Pankaj P (India)
2 rating out of 5 Value for money
3 rating out of 5 Hotel Location
2 rating out of 5 Cleanliness
3 rating out of 5 Staff
2 rating out of 5 Service
2 rating out of 5 Restaurant

Stayed on April 17, 2011
Would you stay in this hotel again? No
Guest Comments:
Guys all out don't even dare to visit this place. It's a pure cheat. Shimla is too over priced and over crowded place. There is hardly anything to see here. The tour operators are cheaters. The whole group stand in unison to cheat the visitors. Don't spend your hard earned money in this good for nothing place....

5  star rating out of 5     Reviewed on Sep 20, 2010
Reviewed by: Anurag A (India)
4 rating out of 5 Value for money
5 rating out of 5 Hotel Location
4 rating out of 5 Cleanliness
4 rating out of 5 Staff
5 rating out of 5 Service
5 rating out of 5 Restaurant

Stayed on September 10, 2010
Would you stay in this hotel again? Yes
No comments

3  star rating out of 5     Reviewed on Jun 23, 2010
Reviewed by: Rajeev S (India)
3 rating out of 5 Value for money
4 rating out of 5 Hotel Location
1 rating out of 5 Cleanliness
3 rating out of 5 Staff
3 rating out of 5 Service
3 rating out of 5 Restaurant

Stayed on June 13, 2010
Would you stay in this hotel again? Yes
No comments

5  star rating out of 5     Reviewed on Jan 18, 2010
Reviewed by: Sadasivan P (India)
5 rating out of 5 Value for money
5 rating out of 5 Hotel Location
5 rating out of 5 Cleanliness
5 rating out of 5 Staff
5 rating out of 5 Service
5 rating out of 5 Restaurant

Stayed on January 2, 2010
Would you stay in this hotel again? Yes
No comments

5  star rating out of 5     Reviewed on Dec 11, 2009
Reviewed by: Abhay S (India)
4 rating out of 5 Value for money
4 rating out of 5 Hotel Location
5 rating out of 5 Cleanliness
5 rating out of 5 Staff
4 rating out of 5 Service
4 rating out of 5 Restaurant

Stayed on December 2, 2009
Would you stay in this hotel again? Yes
No comments

3.5  star rating out of 5     Reviewed on Jul 18, 2009
Reviewed by: Vg J (India)
3 rating out of 5 Value for money
4 rating out of 5 Hotel Location
3 rating out of 5 Cleanliness
3 rating out of 5 Staff
3 rating out of 5 Service
3 rating out of 5 Restaurant

Stayed on July 12, 2009
Would you stay in this hotel again? Yes
No comments

5  star rating out of 5     Reviewed on Jun 24, 2009
Reviewed by: rajesh J (India)
5 rating out of 5 Value for money
5 rating out of 5 Hotel Location
5 rating out of 5 Cleanliness
5 rating out of 5 Staff
5 rating out of 5 Service
4 rating out of 5 Restaurant

Stayed on June 15, 2009
Would you stay in this hotel again? Yes
No comments
Book this hotel now: Hotel Surya, Shimla

Popular Shimla Hotels by Guest Reviews


Hotel Sangeet, Shimla  
168 Reviews of this Shimla hotel
   4  star rating out of 5
Hotel Dreamland, Shimla  
139 Reviews of this Shimla hotel
   3.5  star rating out of 5
Hotel Sukh Sagar, Shimla  
49 Reviews of this Shimla hotel
   4  star rating out of 5
Hotel Surya, Shimla  
39 Reviews of this Shimla hotel
   4  star rating out of 5
Hotel Amber, Shimla  
37 Reviews of this Shimla hotel
   4  star rating out of 5